Miriam Kent

1999 to 2003

Miriam was Head Girl in 2003 and completed her Year 13 gaining a B Bursary and UE.  She was extremely active at school and was involved in a huge range of activities including netball, volleyball, cricket, basketball, school productions, Shakespeare festival and the school Christian Group.

After she left school she lived and worked in Tasmania, Australia for nearly two years. There she earned enough to pay the rent at an in-bound call centre, and did lots of volunteer youth work, particularly with the church and in schools.  She really enjoyed her time in Tasmania, but knew that she needed to get back to New Zealand to start some serious study.  At this point Miriam started her degree at Victoria University.  After one year she transferred to Auckland and graduated with a degree in Anthropology and English (the move to Auckland was something to do with a certain young man she met!)  Miriam then went on to gain a Diploma of Teaching (Secondary) also from the University of Auckland.

Whilst at University Miriam worked as a librarian, lifeguard, kitchen hand, at another call-centre, as a mentor in schools and at a book wholesale warehouse.  Now she has what she describes as her first ‘real’ job as a full time English teacher at Western Springs College in Auckland.

After Australia Miriam headed to the UK to visit her sisters and see a little bit of the world.  Whilst there she travelled throughout England, to Belgium, Austria and Turkey – at one stage she missed a plane and spent a night in Rome!

Now Miriam is devoting lots of time to youth and young people, and really enjoys being, along with Aaron (her husband) mentors for first year university students at a hostel in Auckland.

Miriam is still very active and plays and coaches volleyball, and is fully involved in her church.

At the moment Miriam and Aaron are in the process of developing their skills in order to work in a developing country, with a focus on business, education and development. (Watch this space!)

Family:  A wonderful husband… and maybe kids… one day.